Curriculum information.

The curriculum at Atherton Community School is reviewed annually. Our curriculum intent is to engage our young people in learning and to foster a culture of  commitment to  lifelong learning.


In Key Stage 3, there is a broad and balanced curriculum ensuring that all students experience the breadth of subjects, delivered by subject specialists.

Key Stage 3 encompasses Years 7 and 8.  There are opportunities for those students who need extra literacy support and numeracy support to receive this.  As a school we are keen to enable students to experience as many different subjects and create pathways through key stage 3 and key stage 4, so that aspiration is high and individual needs are met.


In Year 7 and 8 pupils study:








Computer Science




Product Design

Food Technology


Clubs: enrichment learning.

PSHCE learning is supported by focused days throughout the school year.


Year 9 is our Foundation Year for GCSE.  We start to use the terminology from exam board specifications and to introduce GCSE modules of learning into our lessons.  This allows students to gain excellent subject knowledge, subject specific vocabulary and skills and a true understanding of what GCSE will be like in the subjects they are studying in Year 10 and Year 11.


Key Stage 4 (Year 9-11) offers students a wide variety of option subjects alongside core subjects.  We are committed to enable every young person to aim high and study subjects which will help them to achieve long after they leave the school.  There is a programme in place to help pupils to make these important choices which range from a Guided Options Evening, College Drop- in Days, College Taster Days and an individual interview with local colleges and/or people from the local business community.